Bill No. 032



BY-LAW NUMBER 2023-

A By-law of The Corporation of the City of Barrie to appoint members to various committees, boards and commissions for the 2022 to 2026 Term of Council.

WHEREAS, the Council of The Corporation of the City of Barrie may appoint representatives to various committees, boards and commissions;

AND WHEREAS, the Council of The Corporation of the City of Barrie adopted motions 22-G-168, 22-G-178, 22-G-184, 23-G-012 and 23-G-051 concerning appointments to committees, boards and commissions; and

NOW THEREFORE, the Council of The Corporation of the City of Barrie hereby enacts as follows:

- 1. **THAT** appointments be made to various committees, boards and commissions for the 2022 to 2026 Term of Council in accordance with Schedule "A" attached hereto and forming part of this By-law.
- 2. **THAT** this By-law shall come into force and effect immediately upon the final passing thereof.

READ a first and second time this 29th day of March, 2023.

READ a third time and finally passed this 29th day of March, 2023.

THE CORPORATION OF THE CITY OF BARRIE
MAYOR – ALEX NUTTALL
CITY CLERK – WENDY COOKE

BY-LAW NUMBER 2023-SCHEDULE "A"

Reference Committees				
Committee and Composition	Members Appointed	Term of Office ends		
Affordability Committee	 Mayor, A. Nuttall as ex-officio Deputy Mayor, R. Thomson as ex-officio Councillor, C. Nixon – Co-Chair Councillor, J. Harris – Co-Chair 	November 14, 2026		
Community Safety Committee	 Mayor, A. Nuttall as ex-officio Deputy Mayor, R. Thomson as ex-officio Councillor, S. Morales - Chair Councillor, A. Courser 	November 14, 2026		
Infrastructure and Community Investment Committee	 Mayor, A. Nuttall as ex-officio Deputy Mayor, R. Thomson as ex-officio Councillor, B. Hamilton - Chair Councillor, C. Riepma Councillor, N. Nigussie 	November 14, 2026		
Finance and Responsible Governance Committee	 Mayor, A. Nuttall as ex-officio Deputy Mayor, R. Thomson as ex-officio Councillor, G. Harvey - Chair Councillor, A.M. Kungl 	November 14, 2026		
	Advisory Committees			
Active Transportation and Sustainability Committee	 Councillor, A.M. Kungl – Chair Councillor, B. Hamilton 1 representative from the Simcoe Muskoka District Health Unit 1 representative from Nature Barrie 1 representative from Living Green Seven (7) citizen members: Jette Bourne Nicholas Flinn Laurel Hoffarth John Northcote Wilf Steimle Eric van Wesenbeeck Danielle Waters 	November 14, 2026		
Arts Advisory Committee	 Councillor, A. Courser - Chair 1 representative from the Barrie Arts Committee 1 representative from the Barrie Arts Alliance 1 representative from the Barrie Public Art Committee 1 representative from the Central Ontario Music Council 1 representative from the MacLaren Art Centre Three (3) citizen members: Ian Carrington Churchward Scott Herman Neda Mazhab Jafari 	November 14, 2026		
Business Licencing Appeal Committee	Five (5) citizen members: William French Catherine Kenwell Stephen Kinsella Camille Kosokowsky Prabhat Batra	November 14, 2026		

3 Bill No. 032

Committee of Adjustment	Five (5) citizen members: Andrea Butcher-Milne Jay Dolan Graydon Ebert Carol Phillips Stephen Trotter	November 14, 2026
Communities in Bloom Committee	Councillor, A.M. Kungl - Chair Six (6) citizen members: Dennis Karl Bagnell Ann Darcene Brooke-Bagnell Kelly Patterson McGrath Sharon Posius Dorothy Ramsay Vandita Watts	November 14, 2026
Heritage Barrie	 Councillor, C. Riepma - Chair Councillor, A.M. Kungl Six (6) citizen members: Cathy Colebatch Debra Exel Craig Froese Camille Kosokowsky Kayleigh MacKinnon Sarah MacKinnon Shelley Marchant Pauline Stevenson Prabhat Batra 	November 14, 2026
International Relations Committee	Councillor, J. Harris - Chair 1 representative from each of the partnerships: Zweibrucken Arras Murayama Harrogate 1 representative from Youth Ambassador 4 business representatives 1 representative from Georgian College 1 representative from Base Borden 1 representative of the Youth Council	November 14, 2026
Order of the Spirit Catcher Committee	 Councillor, N. Nigussie - Chair Councillor, J. Harris 1 representative of the Barrie Community Foundation, to be selected by the Foundation. 	November 14, 2026
Property Standards Committee	Five (5) citizen members: Alex Goldstein Stephen Kinsella Camille Kosokowsky Carol Phillips Brendon Saxton	November 14, 2026
Seniors and Accessibility Advisory Committee	 Councillor, N. Nigussie – Chair Representatives from Allandale and Parkview Seniors Centres 1 representative from Canadian Association of Retired Persons (CARP) Six (6) citizen members: Wilma Delo Rebecca Garvin Catherine Kenwell Robb Meier Louise Pope Elias Saba 	November 14, 2026

Town and Gown Committee	 Councillor, C. Riepma - Chair 2 representatives of Georgian College (1 of which may be a student) Four (4) citizen members: Daniel Abiodun Rajesh Kumar Judy Morozuk Jeffrey Weston 	November 14, 2026
Other	Committees, Corporations, Boards and Task Forces	
Barrie Hydro Holdings Inc.	All members of Council (Mayor, and 10 Councillors)	November 14, 2026
Barrie Police Services Board	Mayor, A. NuttallDeputy Mayor, R. ThomsonGreg Ferguson	November 14, 2026
Barrie Public Library Board	 Councillor, A. Courser Councillor, N. Nigussie John Edwin Bicknell George Hawtin Merrisa Little Austin Mitchell Robin Munro Michael Sauro David (Hongxue) Zhao 	November 14, 2026
Barrie Sports Hall of Fame Board	Councillor, N. Nigussie	November 14, 2026
County of Simcoe - Affordable Housing Advisory Committee	Councillor, A. Nuttall	November 14, 2026
County of Simcoe – Performance Management Committee (Archives and Museums)	Mayor, A. Nuttall	November 14, 2026
County of Simcoe - Simcoe County Housing Corporation Board of Directors	Mayor, A. Nuttall Deputy Mayor, R. Thomson	November 14, 2026
County of Simcoe – Human Services Committee	 Mayor, A. Nuttall Councillor, C. Riepma Councillor, N. Nigussie Councillor, B. Hamilton 	November 14, 2026
Downtown Business Association (BIA) Board	 Councillor, C. Nixon Heather Kennedy Steve Ricalis Chantal Martin Alison Oakes Christina Mancuso Jaclyn Stergiadis Chris Gerrard 	November 14, 2026
Greater Barrie Chamber of Commerce	Mayor, A. Nuttall (ex-officio)Deputy Mayor, R. Thomson	November 14, 2026
Lake Simcoe Regional Airport Corporation	Councillor, S. Morales	November 14, 2026
Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority	 Councillor, C. Riepma Councillor, B. Hamilton Term begins with the 2023 Annual General Meeting 	November 14, 2026

MacLaren Art Centre	Councillor, C. NixonCouncillor, J. Harris	November 14, 2026
Mayor's Priority and Planning Task Force	 Deputy Mayor, R. Thomson Councillor, S. Morales - Chair Councillor, C. Nixon Councillor, G. Harvey Councillor, B. Hamilton 	November 14, 2026
Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority	Councillor, G. Harvey	November 14, 2026
Physician Recruitment Task Force	Councillor, B. Hamilton	November 14, 2026
Public Art Committee	Deputy Mayor, R. ThomsonCouncillor, A. Courser	November 14, 2026
Royal Victoria Hospital Foundation	Mayor, A. Nuttall	November 14, 2026
Royal Victoria Hospital Capital Expansion	Mayor, A. Nuttall	November 14, 2026
Simcoe Muskoka District Health Unit	Councillor, A M. KunglCouncillor, N. Nigussie	November 14, 2026
Sandbox	Councillor, S. Morales	November 14, 2026
Tourism Barrie	Councillor, G. Harvey	November 14, 2026
Youth Task Force	Councillor, J. Harris (new task force with mandate to be presented in Q1 2023)	

5