

BY-LAW NUMBER 2011-

A By-law of The Corporation of the City of Barrie to appoint Stephen Morrison Naylor as Director of Planning for the City of Barrie.

WHEREAS Section 8 of the Municipal Act, 2001, S.O. 2001, c.M.25 ("the Municipal Act, 2001"), provides that a municipality has the capacity, rights, powers and privileges of a natural person for the purpose of exercising its authority under the Act;

AND WHEREAS Section 9 of the Municipal Act, 2001, provides that Sections 8 and 11 shall be interpreted broadly so as to confer broad authority on municipalities to (a) enable municipalities to govern their affairs as they consider appropriate and, (b) enhance their ability to respond to municipal issues;

AND WHEREAS Section 11 of the Municipal Act, 2001, provides that a single-tier municipality may pass by-laws respecting matters within the spheres of jurisdiction set out therein;

AND WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 227, of the Municipal Act, 2001, it is the role of the officers and employees of the municipality to implement council's decisions and establish administrative practices and procedures to carry out council's decisions; to undertake research and provide advise to council on the policies and programs of the municipality and to carry out other duties as required under this or any Act and other duties assigned by the municipality;

AND WHEREAS, the Council of The Corporation of the City of Barrie deems it expedient to appoint a Director of Planning;

NOW THEREFORE, the Council of The Corporation of the City of Barrie enacts as follows:

- 1. **THAT** Stephen Morrison Naylor be appointed as Director of Planning, in accordance with the Municipal Act, 2001, S.O. 2001, c. 25, for the City of Barrie for the term of his employment as Director of Planning.
- THAT this By-law shall come into force and take effect immediately upon the final passing thereof.

READ a first and second time this 30th day of May 2011.

READ a third time and finally passed this 30th day of May 2011.

THE CORPORATION OF THE CITY OF BARRIE
MAYOR – J.R. LEHMAN
CITY CLERK – DAWN A. MCALPINE